View All T-Mobile Reviews

Read our full T-Mobile review
Cheapest Price Per Minute:
Unlimited Data Available:
Unlimited Texting Available:
Shop For Deals on T-Mobile Plans and Phones
Visit the Official T-Mobile Website
T-Mobile Reviews
Average Rating by Users:

3 stars of 5 based on 860 reviews

j.c.9/10/2013
Purchased a samsung cell phone ($60 with prepaid plan) with 1000 prepaid minutes ($100) after reading good web reviews about the T-Mobile prepaid plan. The gentleman at the T-mobil store in the local mall checked my home address on his coverage map and said that coverage near my home would be very strong (highest category - 5 bars). When I brought the phone home, I couldn't get any coverage. But when I returned the phone to the store 2-days later, the store manager said he would only refund the $60 cost of the phone, but not the $100 I paid for the prepaid minutes (even though having prepaid minutes without a working phone is obviously useless). Called T-mobile customer service. The supervisor there politely said he understood my concern, but there was nothing to be done. Rather unhelpful.

alber9/10/2013
T-MOBILE IS NOT THAT BAD ITS BETTER THAN AT&T GO PHONE (PREPAID), AT&T GO PHONE CHARGES U FOR EVERY SINGLE THING U DO. WHEN I WAS SHOPPING 4 RINGTONES THEY CHARGED ME 4 USING THE INTERNET PLUS THE RINGTONES PRICE. AND ITS .25 A MINUTE!

Chuck9/10/2013
I have an old Nokia Hershey Bar phone with T-Mobile. ABSOLUTELY no issues or problems. I buy the 100.00 refills and that holds me for quite a while. I travel on work throughout the Caribbean and have always had coverage. That does get pricy though, 2.99 per minute in Trinidad. I'll probably buy another phone soon, for the newer features like a camera, but my Nokia is flawless. I love T-Mobile, will suggest this to anybody.

Tink9/10/2013
This is the worst plan I have ever had in my life. Im switching over to US Cellular. The Gold Rewards dont even apply anymore. $10 is like 30 min. This prepaid plan is ONLY good if you do not use the phone AT ALL. If its just for pure emergency with 2 min. phone calls. Tmobile prepaid practically steals your money. They rip you off on your min. The ONLY good thing about Tmobile is the phones and the ringtones. THATS IT! Tmobile in general is the worst prepaid plan that exists!

jakeoff9/10/2013
No complaints. Buy the $50 refill and it's pretty cheap overall...lasts me about a month with moderate usage, which is way cheaper than my cingular contract plan was. It's GSM, so you can use pretty much any unlocked phone you want. Plus, the CSRs are far nicer than the idiots at Cingular. So far I'm completely satisfied.

!ShopOhoLic!9/10/2013
OMG!As soon as i got the fone,i flipped it open and it broke in 1/2!So i went bak in to tell teh clerk and she did NOTHING about it and said that if i wanted to buy a new cell phone,I would have to buy anoter,including the plan,and for the fone and for the contract!!!!I was SO mad and upset and fuios with her...I threw the cell on teh ground,stomped on it,and stormed out!I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS COMPANY AT ALL!!!!AND BESIDES,THEY DONT EVEN TREAT U WITH RESPECT!ALL THEY DO IS TREAT U LIKE A TRASH CAN!!!!!!

U wiSh u CouLd knoW mE...9/10/2013
I THink tHat ThiS iS oNe oF thE BesT ComaPnieS thAt I haVe bEen witH In a Long TiME!I TruLy Do RecomMenD t-MobiLe!!!!!!!!!!

Qat9/10/2013
You can't get the sim card by itself, as far as I know -- but the cheapest phone that comes with the prepay plan is only $30 and includes $10 worth of minutes. Advice: Immediately buy a $100 card; that kicks you into gold status and cuts the rate to $0.10/minute, INCLUDING the minutes already on the phone -- so your initial $10 gives you 100 minutes rather than 30.

Fred9/10/2013
How can you beat this deal. The phone cost $29 with free shipping with $10 included and a free $25 card included. That is almost free. I buy a $ 100 card for $88 at wall-mart and become a gold member with 1000 minutes that last a year. The network is as large as any others. I can put their sim in any unlocked phone if I dont like the one provided. My only problem now is what to do with all my Cingular accounts that still have minutes left on them. Notice how all the people who complain here cant give any good reasons. I am the cheapest person on earth and T-Moble is the cheapest and best plan!!!!!!!!!

j.c.9/10/2013
Purchased a samsung cell phone ($60 with prepaid plan) with 1000 prepaid minutes ($100) after reading good web reviews about the T-Mobile prepaid plan. The gentleman at the T-mobil store in the local mall checked my home address on his coverage map and said that coverage near my home would be very strong (highest category - 5 bars). When I brought the phone home, I couldn't get any coverage. But when I returned the phone to the store 2-days later, the store manager said he would only refund the $60 cost of the phone, but not the $100 I paid for the prepaid minutes (even though having prepaid minutes without a working phone is obviously useless). Called T-mobile customer service. The supervisor there politely said he understood my concern, but there was nothing to be done. Rather unhelpful.

Diana8/15/2013
T-Mobile is a horrible prepaid cell phone service provider. They sell defective phones that are supposedly under warrantee and if there is a problem, they replace it with another defective phone. By the way, when you ship your phone off for a replacement, you will have to pay the shipping out of your own pocket. It took three weeks to get my phone back. I lost my prepaid minutes for all that time also. T-Mobile refused to reimburse me for either in spite of promises that they would. My phone is still under warrantee and the issue hasn't been resolved. All I want is a phone that works or my money back. They haven't done either, so now I am filing a complaint with the FCC. I refuse to renew my minutes because the issue with my phone is going to damage my hearing if I continue using it if it hasn't already. When I have the phone against my ear and am in the middle of a conversation, it puts out a high-pitched, piercing, continuous sound directly in my ear that doesn't stop until the call is terminated. The problem with the phone is clearly their fault and yet the customer has to pay the shipping the first and second, and possibly the third time it is returned, not to mention the prepaid minutes lost. What kind of warrantee is that? By the time you are done, you could have purchased a brand new phone out right. No matter whether T-Mobile's phones are refurbished or not, I thought they at least had the responsibility to sell us phones that functioned. Somebody really needs to do something about this business. You have to argue with customer service to get them to let you talk with their supervisor. You are next put on hold and the wait time is very long. They aren't going to get another dime out of me.

Peter7/23/2013
No dropped calls or network outages in 2 years of service. Very fast 4G and LTE data speeds so far. (15+ Mbps in NYC) You can compare prepaid plans at www.AllPrepaidPlans.com

Neha Kaul7/16/2013
I just wrote a review and many to give it one star. Like this one. Sorry for the error.

Neha Kaul7/16/2013
The phone itself was a good purchase. But the customer service that came with it as a result of the billing mistakes, was so painful that I will not go with this service again. They stole my money in the end by threatening me with collection calls which would affect my credit history. The bills and warning letters had different amounts on them. The customer service people were contradicting one anotherand being extremely patronizing in teaching me how to add (I have a phd in engineering). My family is done with t mobile.

Nabik7/9/2013
t mobile's $2 Daily UL Talk Text 2G Web is false because when i added money to my $2 daily plan since i had my phone turn off completely.since i only use it my cell for when traveling long distant at night..today i went on the t-mobile site to check out other plans.since i added the $10.00 I only use it then to text and i was actually using an app on my phone to text(LINE+ watsapp) so only $2 suppose to com out instead my account is stating i only have $7.63 balance. this is not the first time i notice this had happen to me..I'm only still putting up with T-Mobile crap because my cell is a t-mobile phone and i can't afford to switch at the moment..ughhh

flyingbeagle6/28/2013
T-Mobile has the worst customer service EVER! Maybe it was because I cancelled my phones that I must suffer. I called customer service (should be renamed T-Mobile hell) to cancel my 3 phones. We don’t use them that much. It doesn’t make sense to pay nearly 100 bucks a month for something we don’t use. One line still is in contract for another 6 months so cancelling it cost me a $100 penalty. I’d rather pay that then pay $50 bucks a month ($300) to keep the contract. 1. Lesson one. Ignore the stupid computer receptionist Do not attempt to tell that thing what you want. It will not understand you. Just dial “0", and it will connect you with a customer service rep. Whoever invented these stupid things needs to be water tortured. 2. Lesson two. Do not allow the customer service reps to up sell you. When I told the rep I wanted to cancel my accounts because I couldn’t afford it anymore. She actually tried to sell me a more expensive plan. She tried to scare me with the $100 cancellation penalty. I was expecting an aggressive sells push, but what she tried to do was just ridiculous. It was like trying to sell a glass of water to a drowning man. What the hell T-Mobile! So my 3 phones numbers are cancelled as of the next billing cycle – I think. Before this I was considering changing my phones to a 1000 minute Pre paid plan. So on the day of the cancellation I call T-Mobile again to make two the phones Pre Paid so I can keep the same phone numbers. Here is where I enter T-Mobile hell. I call T-Mobile again, and get the useless computer receptionist. I hadn’t learned to hit “O" yet. Repeated “Pre paid" clearly, but it kept saying it doesn’t understand me. So eventually I get frustrated and just hit “0". Walla - dumb thing connects me to a customer service rep. 3. Lesson three. Do not talk to customer service reps if you want a Pre-Paid plan – or anything really. Their job is not to provide a service. It is to sell you data plans, txt plans, and keep you on the most expensive minutes contract until well after you and your cell phone batteries are dead. This time I told the rep, I just cancelled my accounts, but I wanted to change those numbers to Pre Paid account. Instead of simply doing what I ask, she tried to sell me another monthly account, with more minutes, data, texting. So I repeated that I want to change them to a Pre Paid plan, never asked for anything else, and she seemed to give up, and told me she had to transfer me to the Pre Paid reps. Which she should have done in the first place. I sat on hold for about 3 minutes, and then the same rep gets back on the line. “Sir are you sure you want to do this. We have a great data plan, and minutes plan for you. BLAH BLAH……" At this point I was starting to think this was some kind of phone prank. I told her again, no. I want a prepaid plan. She gives up and connects me to the pre paid reps. He told me he needed to know the SIM card numbers. I didn’t have both phones on me at the time. For some reason when the pre paid rep gets on the phone the connection was horrible. It is was one of those “Can you hear me now?" moments. I had to hang up because we couldn’t hear other. When I was talking to the customer services reps the call was crystal clear. Was this call routed to India? Later I call T-Mobile again using the phone I thought should be cancelled – for some reason the other 2 numbers have been cancelled, but not this one. I hit “O", and get a customer service rep. I tell her I need to speak to the Pre Paid reps. She connects me straight to them – no sales pitch – no interrogation. At this point I’m truly fed up with T-Mobile and there sales tactics. So when I talk to the Pre Paid rep I attempted to be stern and very clear about what I wanted. There shouldn’t be any confusion about what I wanted. I told him that I wanted each line to be made Pre Paid lines. I want each of them to be 1000 minutes at a cost of $100 bucks, no monthly plans, no data, no texting. He tells me the line that was still under contract can be changed today, but the other line was cancelled (which doesn’t make sense) so I have to wait 74 hours for it to be changed. He puts me on hold a bunch of times and doesn’t tell me he is doing it, so I mistakenly think he has hung up. Eventually the line just goes dead. He didn’t ask me for the SIM cards numbers like first pre paid rep. Why not? At some point I realize this phone has been changed to a prepaid. So I go online to Refill the minutes. T-Mobile needs the phone number of your bank when you use a debit card I filled in the wrong number for that bank. So instead of giving me another chance to correct it, the website just tells me there is problem with your order, and won’t allow me to do anything else. So now I’m forced to call T-Mobile again. I’m thinking I can just talk to the computer, and use my phone to enter the numbers. No. I get some guy rep who insists on interrogating me. He asks me my birthdate, address, last four number of my SSN. OK – no problem. And then proceeds to tell me he is going to ask me some Yes or No questions from public records. What the hell is that? He starts asking me if I’m familiar with particular addresses, and then asks me If I have ever lived in a bunch of counties and cities. This entire process is blowing my mind. So I get frustrated and just list all of the places I’ve lived so he will stop wasting my time. He stops and tells me I can add minutes to my phone now. WTF? Finally I have the first phone loaded. 2 days later I check my other phone. I’m getting Welcome messages from T-Mobile. I don’t remember this happening with the other phone. The messages tell me to go to the T-Mobile website to learn about your plan. When I check my account, it isn’t a Pre Paid account. They have switched it back to 700 minute monthly plan. I call them back. And tell them they screwed up. The sales rep tells me she will take care of it…a few minutes later I get disconnected – again without warning. My second phone now has no minutes, or plan. And I’m considering unlocking it to use another cell phone service. I love my phone. T-Mobile sucks

Nicia parks6/24/2013
T-mobile prepaid phones sucks!!! And so does t-mobile....called them three times and still can't use the damn phone.

rjlawrencejr6/11/2013
I hate to say, but many of the complaints I see are due to you as customers not doing proper research prior to making the switch. Personally, I have had a great experience with T-Mobile. I decided to switch over in September 2012 after five plus years with AT&T. The service I had with "Big Blue" was great. I had no complaints at all except for the fact that my bill was at minimum $100 every month (and that included an affinity discount I received through USC). I was looking for a way to economize. Fortunately my iPhone 4 was out of contract, so I unlocked it. I began reading various online forums when I got wind that T-Mobile had a prepaid plan for $30 with 100 minutes of talk time and unlimited data. While I knew I would be sacrificing a lot in talk minutes, I also knew their were Internet alternatives I could turn to (such as Skype). I decided to do additional research, which included calling a T-Mobile company store. The rep politely explained that I could only get that deal through Walmart or online. Based on that, I went to a nearby Walmart, purchased a ToGo kit, took out the SIM, shaved it down and voila, I was now on T-Mobile’s network with my unlocked iPhone. Another fortunate happenstance for me was that at the time I switched, T-Mobile was in the midst of upgrading their 1900mhz band to support iPhone for 3G (and any other phone using that band for 3G coverage). While it was frustrating at times to be on EDGE speeds (after being accustomed to AT&T’s near ubiquitous 3G coverage), I knew at the time of my switch they were in the early stages of updating their technology because I had read extensively and that the upgrades would soon be complete. To date, all of my expectations have been met - and in some cases exceeded. Do I get great coverage at home? No. But I expected that much. I looked at their coverage map and where their towers were located so I knew coverage in my urban/mountainous region would not be great. But when I come down the hill into the city, it's a different story. Coverage throughout SoCal is quite good. The only other time I have some issues is when I enter certain buildings. But this is not T-Mobile's fault, it's a by-product of the frequencies they use for their signal. Higher frequencies are less able to penetrate buildings than lower frequencies. To sum up my review, the reason I give T-Mobile 4/5 stars is strictly because there is always room for improvement. However, I couldn't be happier, especially since I will have saved well over $800 since switching last year. Don’t get me wrong some of you do have legitimate gripes. It could be miscommunication or it could be total wrong doing on the part of T-Mobile. But I do know that many of the problems stated on this board could have been prevented had consumers done their homework prior to shelling out their hard-earned dollars.

Lamon Unhappy6/10/2013
Just got with T-Mobile last month and i must say the price is wonderful but the service is terrible. I have unlimited everthing on the iphone i purchased, some times it won't let my text messages go through and this happens when i'm home and at work. And some times i won't receive a text until later in the day that was sent earlier.Also i've had to exchange my iphone twice thinking it was the phone but came to findout it was the service.The good price doesn't out weigh the poor service.

Daren5/23/2013
Very difficult to get through to customer service. Problems with paying correct amount because of taxes. Even more difficult to stop auto pay. Long hold times when you can get through to customer service.

Dave in Seattle5/7/2013
Unhappy with overcharges I have been using t-mobile togo for years. The actual coverage and call quality is good here in the puget sound area. It seems I can't trust them to charge my minutes fairly though. I will be watching my balance very closely, if they continue to overcharge my minutes this will be my last $100 refill.

lpool4/25/2013
I, too, have had *a lot* of trouble with my 1000 prepaid minutes "disappearing" with little phone usage. I just got off the phone with a T-Mobile customer service manager who I spoke with in order to file a complaint about the issue, and towards the end of our call he said, "You do know that every time you call 411 it costs $1.79 plus minutes, don't you?" Well, that was news to me. I do not use my phone often, but I probably call 411 5-10 times per month. (And occasionally I am given the wrong number and have to call back multiple times until I receive the correct one!) That wastes a ton of minutes per call! I told the manager that it would be nice if it was posted visibly on their website, so that I would have known not to use 411. He apologized for that and offered me a $50/month plan so that I could avoid those issues =) I wish I called and found that out years ago! It would have saved me tons of money.

lpool4/25/2013
I, too, have had *a lot* of trouble with my 1000 prepaid minutes "disappearing" with little phone usage. I just got off the phone with a T-Mobile customer service manager who I spoke with in order to file a complaint about the issue, and towards the end of our call he said, "You do know that every time you call 411 it costs $1.79 plus minutes, don't you?" Well, that was news to me. I do not use my phone often, but I probably call 411 5-10 times per month. (And occasionally I am given the wrong number and have to call back multiple times until I receive the correct one!) That wastes a ton of minutes per call! I told the manager that it would be nice if it was posted visibly on their website, so that I would have known not to use 411. He apologized for that and offered me a $50/month plan so that I could avoid those issues =) I wish I called and found that out years ago! It would have saved me tons of money.

Peggy 4/21/2013
Well, for the unlimited data no-contract plan, it is calculated based on 30 days but not a month. So, I had tried to talk abit more on the last day of the month, but then, I found out I used up the remain minutes of the new month. The could have market it as $30 for 30 days rather than per month

Peggy4/21/2013
Well, for the unlimited data no-contract plan, it is calculated based on 30 days but not a month. So, I had tried to talk abit more on the last day of the month, but then, I found out I used up the remain minutes of the new month. The could have market it as $30 for 30 days rather than per month

Weisse4/5/2013
The worst lying customer service I ever encountered

jon4/4/2013
I switched over approximately Jan of 2013 from Sprint. I live and work in a metro area, downtown Pittsburgh, and for me the service is perfect . Clear calls and reliable texting at a very fair price. I opted for the 50 prepaid plan...also sometimes you can score a $50 card on eBay for much less.. its hit or miss but the lowest I paid is $34. SCORE. My phone is only 3G and that works just fine for me ...I'm not really into my phone being a computer...but I do use it for quick Google searches for addresses and phone numbers. Also the navigation feature seems to work well although I've only used it a few times. the service is also good and most of the suburbs . I've never had a dropped call and I've never had to contact customer service and I hope I never do based on the other reviews .

Melinda3/26/2013
T-Mobile PRACTICES NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. JUST SPENT 2 HOURS WITH THEIR CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I HAD BEEN WITH THEM FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 YEARS. I RECENTLY PUT 7 HOURS WORTH OF MINUTES ON MY PREPAID ACCOUNT AND NOW THEY TELL ME IT WAS ALL USED UP A FEW WEEKS LATER. THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE AS AT THE MOST ONLY 2-3 HOURS WOULD HAVE BEEN USED AT BEST. I HAVE A LAND-LINE AND I MAKE ALL OF MY CALLS ON IT. ANYWAY, WHEN I ASKED FOR A RECORD FOR THE PROOF OF THE CALLS AND USAGE OF MINUTES MADE, I WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT GIVE OUT THAT INFORMATION!!! (was told it was in the contract agreement that they do not have to furnish a bill or proof to customers)

Ace Nixon3/20/2013
I got a No-Contract phone with TMo a couple of months ago under a promo package.I paid for the phone and the $60 initial monthly credit.Samsung was fantastic that I used my regular sim card for about 2 months.Just today,I tried to activate the no-contract sim card & it says zero credit.When I checked on the purchase receipt,the $60 was charged but the account remained on zero credit,indeed.IDK if late activation caused the $60 to expire or it wasn't really credited at all.Just to keep the account going,I inquired if I can refill a $10 or $30 prepaid cards from Walmart but unfortunately,it seems it won't work either.Too bad.The only consolation I have right now though is I'm able to keep the SGS that I bought for a relatively cheaper price of $300 instead of the $580 at retail,they say.Oh well, whatever.I'm still sticking it out with TMo,though. ?

tony3/20/2013
not happy with tmobile,i bought an unlocked gsm android cellphone,and added the $50 dollars unlimited monthly plan and something went wrong.i get 2g speed on my 4g unlocked android.i called inmediately CS and a representative told me my device does not works in the same frecuencies they transmit data so to get 4g speed with tn=mobile you have to buy a compatible device,the representative told me they are trying to fix this problem and transmit in all others freciencies but not for now..so...iam swithing to another company right now like virgin mobile,boost mobile or any other but first iam going to make some research about each provider and choose the best for me.good bye tmobile you don't tell customers they must check their devices compatibility before buy a plan,iam very desapointed with u.

Joe3/8/2013
So far so good.
Tired paying ATT voice+text for $110/month (tax included) on 3 phones so I decided to try 3x$30 prepaid plans on three diff phone, 2 with unlimited data and 1 for 30MB data. Bought Samsung Galaxy and ordered 2 extra SIM cards (free) from T-mobile. I am happy I've got data plan on my new phone and pay less than before. One cons, the prepaid phone I paid for $400 is not unlocked. At the end people need to match their lifestyle with the phone plans, I have landline at home and phone at work so 100-min a month is OK.

Hardly any 3G, terrible customer service3/4/2013
I received an iPhone as a gift since my relative found a cheap phone at an auction. Since the phone wasn't under contract, I called AT&T to have them unlock it. T-Mobile has an awesome plan that I wanted, $30 for 100 minutes and unlimited text & web with 5gb's of up to 4G speeds. T-Mobile was working on their towers to support the iPhone so it can have 3G.

Videoanne3/3/2013
Bad customer service, no customer loyalty. Could care less with a will run you around in circles take up hours of your time with attitude.I had a cell for emergency use basically I purchased 2 or 3 hundred minutes every year for 6 years. Basic model flip style phone. After 6 years T-Mobile closed my account without notice, gave my phone number to someone else who lives locally. When my phone did not work I assumed it was out of minutes, I purchased 50 dollars to load the phone. The minutes went to the other fellow who now had my phone number. I spent hours and hours on the phone with T-Mobile reps attempting to recover the money spent for minutes and my phone number. I was passed around in endless loops without apology or results. Finally Calling Mart
(the internet company I use to purchase the minutes for my cell)agreed that since my husband and I were long standing customers they would refund half of the money I had lost.Calling Mart even attempted to engage T-mobile in assisting with a refund or other arrangement with no result.
Calling Mart who was not at fault was very responsive and helpful. T-Mobile could have cared less. I have a new cell and a new provider and I am warning everyone about T-Mobile. They will close your account without notice and will reassign your phone number. I can't wait until the new fellow gets the 3am emergency phone call from the nursing home where my mom lives! Stay away from T-Mobile. Buy your minutes from Calling Mart but don't load them into a T-Mobile phone. T-Mobile could care less about customer service.

Centinel2/22/2013
Out of the four national carriers, T-Mobile is trying the hardest to shake things up. They've got no-contract unlimited data, soft data caps rather than hard caps, and relatively competitive prices. I like that.

Andrew L.2/20/2013
I recently scrapped my AT&T smartphone because of the outrageous monthly bill. I've got a tablet and a laptop, so what's the point? I purchased the T-Mobile Aspect at Walmart and signed up for the $30/mo. 1500 voice/text prepaid service, which is an excellent value. The phone number porting process only took a few hours and online setup was fast and intuitive. The call quality on T-Mobile's network is excellent. Texts are sent and received quickly. I don't use data much (it's a feature phone). For the price, you can't do much better!

Name:
Email:
Rating:
Review: